Hajiji approves RM1.5m for Keningau’s Holy Family Church road upgrade

Estimated read time 2 min read
Social Sharing

KENINGAU: Chief Minister Datuk Seri Hajiji Haji Noor approved allocations totalling RM3 million for various projects here including to upgrade the Nulu Sosopon road that leads to the Holy Family Church here.

The cost for the Nulu Sosopon road upgrade was RM1.5 million.

Hajiji (second right) with Cornelius (second left) witnessing the Nulu Sosopon road project upgrade warrant handing over by Finance Ministry Permanent Secretary Haji Rusdin Riman (left) to Keningau D.O Walter Kenson (right). -Pic courtesy CMD Media Team

The rest of the allocations were for repairs of the Kauran Bridge, Kauran river bank as well as for flood victims in the Kauran area.

Hajiji made the announcement in his maiden working visit to the District Council here.

Accompanied by Bishop Cornelius Piong, Hajiji witnessed the handing over of the project warrant to District Officer Walter Kenson.

In his address after listening to the development briefing by Kenson, Hajiji was glad to note that the district local plan had been done with Halatuju Sabah Maju Jaya as the guideline.

“I am glad to note the comprehensive plan for Keningau. The State Government sees Keningau as the interior development hub due to its vast potential for agricultural
expansion among others,” he said.

Hajiji and his entourage before the briefing at the District Council meeting room.- Pic courtesy CMD Media Team

In relation, Hajiji disclosed that the State Government has earmarked 8,000 acres of land between Tenom and Sipitang for avocado commercial plantation.

He said this was among many ventures the government eyed to promote economic growth in line with the SMJ aspiration.

“We are exploring as many development projects as possible to be the catalysts for our economic growth,” he said.

Accompanying him were Rural Development Minister, Datuk Jahid Jahim, Special Tasks Minister Datuk Arifin Arif, Minister of Youth and Sports cum Sook Assemblyman, Datuk Ellron Alfred Angin, State Assemblymen – Datuk Annuar Ayub (Liawan), Datuk Robert Tawik (Bingkor) and Flovia Ng (Tulid) – as well as State Secretary, Datuk Seri Safar Untung.-BorneoGazette

You May Also Like